Question & answer

Which AI assistants train on your chats?

The short answer

Of the nine assistants whose policies we read on 22 September 2026, ChatGPT, Gemini and Mistral Vibe train on your chats by default, and each lets you switch that off. Perplexity lists model training too, without a documented switch. Claude only trains if you opt in. Copilot in Microsoft 365, Duck.ai, Brave Leo and Proton Lumo do not train on them.

In detail

The table below sets out, per assistant, what happens to what you type, where the switch sits and what the cheapest paid plan costs. Privacy settings and prices were read on each provider's own pages on 22 September 2026, and every price is shown in the currency the provider displayed.

The switch matters most where training is on until you act. OpenAI sends you to its privacy portal, where you click "do not train on my content", or to Temporary Chat for a single conversation that stays out of training.

Gemini ties it to Gemini Apps Activity. Turn "Keep Activity" off and new chats are removed after 72 hours instead of 18 months. Google adds a catch of its own: chats a human reviewer has looked at can be kept for up to three years, even after you delete your activity.

For Vibe, the assistant Mistral used to call Le Chat, the help center gives two routes. On the web, open admin.mistral.ai, pick Vibe under Manage and turn off "Allow your interactions to be used to train our models". In the phone app, go to Settings, Data & Account Controls and turn off "Enable data sharing".

Two rows need a footnote. Perplexity's privacy policy names improving its AI models as a use of your data but describes no off switch, so there is no menu path to give. Microsoft's no-training promise covers Copilot inside Word, Excel and Outlook; the free Copilot app runs under a separate privacy page.

Do you not trust the switch? Then do not lean on it. A setting only covers chats from the moment you flip it, and an app update can move it. Whatever the policy says, keep account numbers, medical details, passwords and client files out of every chatbot.

The other route is a tool where training is off by design. Duck.ai is free, needs no account and has contracts that bar its model providers from training on your prompts. Brave says Leo stores no prompts or answers on its servers. Lumo encrypts saved chats so that Proton itself cannot read them.

Lumo also has a free plan. Lumo AI Plus costs €9.99 a month on the annual plan, billed as €119.88 a year, against €12.99 when you pay month to month. Claude stays a reasonable pick too, as long as the "Help Improve our AI models" switch under Settings, Privacy remains off.

What nine AI assistants do with your chats (read on 22 September 2026)

AssistantTrains on your chats by defaultHow to turn it offHow long chats are keptServersCheapest paid planSame currency, USD per month (ECB 2026-09-01)Source
ChatGPTYes, unless you opt outprivacy.openai.com > "do not train on my content"; Temporary Chat for one conversationNot statedNot statedGo: €8 a month$9.27https://openai.com/policies/how-your-data-is-used-to-improve-model-performance/
ClaudeNo, only if you opt inNothing to switch off; check your name > Settings > Privacy > "Help Improve our AI models"Deleted chats leave the back end within 30 days; up to 5 years, de-identified, if you allow trainingNot statedPro: €15 a month billed yearly, or €18 monthly$20.86https://privacy.claude.com/en/articles/10023580-is-my-data-used-for-model-training
GeminiYes, while Keep Activity is on (the default)myactivity.google.com/product/gemini > "Keep Activity" off18 months by default; 72 hours with Keep Activity off; chats seen by a reviewer up to 3 yearsNot statedGoogle AI Plus: €4.99 a month$5.78https://support.google.com/gemini/answer/13594961
Microsoft Copilot (in Microsoft 365 apps)NoNothing to switch offNot statedNot statedMicrosoft 365 Personal: $99.99 a year, or $9.99 a month$9.99https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/privacy/copilot-in-microsoft-365-apps-for-home-your-data-and-privacy
PerplexityYes, according to its privacy policyNo switch described in the privacy policy"Only as long as necessary", no fixed periodNot statedPro: $17 a month, billed yearly$17https://www.perplexity.ai/hub/legal/privacy-policy
Duck.ai (DuckDuckGo)NoNothing to switch offOn your device; Sync & Backup removed after 18 months unused; model providers delete within 30 daysDuckDuckGo cloud providers, region not statedPlus: $99.99 a year, or $9.99 a month$9.99https://duckduckgo.com/duckai/privacy-terms
Brave LeoNoNothing to switch off; local history under brave://settings/leo-aiNot stored on Brave servers; large prompts cached for minutesNot statedLeo AI premium: $14.99 a month, or $149.99 a year$14.99https://brave.com/privacy/browser/
Mistral Vibe (formerly Le Chat)Yes, unless you opt outadmin.mistral.ai > Manage > Vibe > Privacy > "Allow your interactions to be used to train our models" off; app: Settings > Data & Account Controls > "Enable data sharing" offNo period stated for chatsEU by default, optional US endpointPro: $14.99 a month, excluding tax$14.99https://help.mistral.ai/en/articles/455207-can-i-opt-out-of-my-input-or-output-data-being-used-for-training
Lumo (Proton)NoNothing to switch offNot stated; saved chats are zero-access encryptedEurope, on servers Proton controlsLumo AI Plus: €9.99 a month billed yearly, or €12.99 monthly$15.06https://proton.me/support/lumo-privacy
Head-to-headProton Lumo vs ChatGPT, side by sideLumo and ChatGPT will both draft an email, sum up a document or answer a question, but they handle what you type in very different ways. Here is what each company does with your chats, what each assistant can do, and what the paid plans cost.

Relevant to this question

Lumo logo
No chat training
Lumo

Proton AG

Private AI and encrypted apps4.4
From €9.99/moVisit Lumo